MEB 590 Module Certification: UN 38.3, IEC 62619 and More

Short answer: MEB 590 module certification can include UN 38.3 (transport testing) and IEC 62619 (industrial safety). Marks such as TUV, UL, JET and BIS identify testing bodies or national schemes, not standards. Each listing requires follow-up: which standard, which object (cell, module or pack), which certificate number, and what date.

Buyers sourcing MEB 590 modules encounter a certificate list that can look more complete than it is, or less complete than it appears. This article explains what each entry means, what it does not cover, and the questions you should ask before committing to a purchase order.

In the Avantis Energy catalogue, the 2P8S entry lists UN 38.3, IEC 62619, TUV, UL, JET and BIS, plus a material safety data sheet. The longer 1P12S entry lists none of these. What that means, and what to ask, is below.

What the common certificates actually cover

UN 38.3

UN 38.3 refers to the transport testing requirements set out in Part III, Section 38.3 of the United Nations Manual of Tests and Criteria, maintained by UNECE. It defines a series of tests, altitude simulation, thermal cycling, vibration, shock, external short circuit, impact and overcharge, among others, that lithium cells and batteries must pass before they can be shipped by air, sea or road under most national and international transport regulations.

Passing UN 38.3 demonstrates that the object tested can survive the mechanical and thermal stresses of transport without venting, fire or explosion. It does not say anything about the object's suitability for a particular end application, its service life, or its safety in an installed system.

Note also that UN 38.3 is tested at a defined object level. A test report covering a cell does not automatically cover a module built from those cells; a report covering one module configuration does not automatically cover a variant with a different cell count or capacity.

IEC 62619

IEC 62619 is the international safety standard for secondary lithium cells and batteries for use in industrial applications, including stationary energy storage. It is published by the International Electrotechnical Commission and addresses safety requirements and tests for cells and battery systems used outside consumer devices and road vehicles.

IEC 62619 sets out safety requirements. This article does not describe its individual test procedures or attach performance targets to them; read the standard itself for that.

For buyers specifying modules for stationary storage applications, IEC 62619 is a meaningful data point. For a broader view of which standards apply at module and system level, including UL 1973, UL 9540 and UL 9540A, read the overview of stationary battery standards on avantisenergy.eu alongside this article.

TUV, UL, JET and BIS: testing bodies, not standards

This is where buyers most often misread a certificate list. TUV, UL, JET (Japan Electrical Safety and Environment Technology Laboratories) and BIS (Bureau of Indian Standards) are not standards in the way that IEC 62619 or UN 38.3 are standards. They are testing and certification bodies, or national scheme operators. A mark from any of them means that an accredited body has tested something against a specific standard or scheme requirement and issued a certificate.

That distinction matters for procurement because the mark alone tells you very little. For each entry in a certificate list, the questions are:

  • Which underlying standard was tested? (IEC 62619? UL 1973? A national standard?)
  • What was the object of certification: the cell, the module or the assembled pack?
  • What is the certificate number?
  • What is the issue date and, if applicable, the expiry or renewal date?

Without those four answers, a logo on a datasheet is not a verifiable claim.

The MSDS

A Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS), sometimes listed as a Safety Data Sheet (SDS), is a hazard communication document, not a performance certification. It records chemical composition, handling precautions, first-aid procedures and disposal guidance. It is commonly required for transport and handling, and it should be on file for any lithium module you store or install. It does not substitute for the UN 38.3 test report or IEC 62619 certification.

When a module is listed without certificates

Not every configuration in a supplier's range carries the same certificate set. A module listed without a certificate entry is not automatically uncertified or non-compliant: the certification status simply is not stated in the catalogue. Before drawing any conclusion, ask the supplier directly: what certificates exist for this configuration, at what object level, and can copies be provided?

This applies equally to MEB 590 module specifications across the range: confirm the certification position for the exact configuration you are ordering, not for the format in general.

What module-level certification does not cover

Two points that are worth stating clearly for any buyer who will integrate a module into a larger system:

A certificate on the module does not certify the end pack. Once you assemble modules into a battery pack or a cabinet, you have created a new object. The applicable standards for that object, and whether it requires its own testing and certification, depend on the application, the jurisdiction and the regulatory regime. This is true for vehicle packs and for stationary storage systems alike.

A module certified for industrial or stationary use is not automatically a certified vehicle component, and vice versa. The MEB 590 module is used in both automotive and stationary storage contexts, but the certification requirements differ between those applications. Do not assume that a certificate obtained for one context transfers to the other.

For stationary applications specifically, system-level requirements such as UL 9540 and the UL 9540A test method apply to the storage system and its installation, not only to the module inside it.

Certification checklist: what to request per listing

Listing on datasheet What it is What to ask
UN 38.3 Transport test report per UNECE requirements Report number, test object (cell or module), date, accredited lab name
IEC 62619 Safety standard for industrial and stationary lithium batteries; ask for the certificate against it Certificate number, issuing body, scope (cell / module / system), issue and expiry date
TUV Mark from a TUV testing body Which TUV entity, which standard tested, object level, certificate number, date
UL Mark from UL Solutions (formerly Underwriters Laboratories) Which UL standard (e.g. UL 1973), object level, UL file number, date
JET Japanese testing and certification body Which standard or scheme, object level, certificate number, date
BIS Bureau of Indian Standards scheme Which IS standard, object level, licence number, date
MSDS / SDS Hazard communication document Current version, issue date; not a performance or safety certification

Frequently asked questions

What does UN 38.3 certification cover for an MEB 590 module?
UN 38.3 covers transport safety: it confirms that the tested object passed a defined series of mechanical and thermal tests required for shipping lithium batteries by air, sea or road. It does not address application suitability, service life, or safety in an installed system, and it applies only to the specific object and configuration that was tested.

Is IEC 62619 the same as a transport approval?
No. IEC 62619 is a safety standard for secondary lithium cells and batteries in industrial applications, including stationary storage. UN 38.3 is the transport testing framework. The two address different risk scenarios and different points in the product lifecycle; both may be relevant for a module intended for stationary use, but they are not interchangeable.

What should I ask when a datasheet lists TUV, UL or JET?
For each mark, ask: which underlying standard was tested, what was the object of certification (cell, module or pack), what is the certificate number, and what is the issue and expiry date. A logo without those details is not a verifiable compliance claim and cannot be relied upon for procurement or regulatory purposes.

Does module-level certification cover the battery pack I build from those modules?
No. Once modules are assembled into a pack or a storage cabinet, you have a new object that may require its own testing and certification depending on the application and jurisdiction. Module certificates do not transfer automatically to the assembled system.

A module in the catalogue has no certificates listed. Does that mean it is uncertified?
Not necessarily. It means the certification status is not stated in the catalogue for that configuration. You should ask the supplier directly what certificates exist for that specific module, at what object level, and whether documentation can be provided before you commit to a purchase order.

Speak to Avantis Energy

To check the certification status of a specific MEB 590 module configuration, contact Avantis Energy with the configuration reference and your application details, and say which certificates you need to verify.

Next step ยท Avantis Energy

Building a pack on MEB 590?

Avantis Energy supplies prismatic NMC and LFP cells and complete modules in the MEB and VDA formats, so you integrate a certified module instead of validating your own. The catalogue lists 24 module types and 20 cell types.

Request a quote from Avantis EnergyTell us configuration, voltage and quantity. No account needed.

Or browse the full module range first